What to Read Next

 

What to Read Next

 

 

100 Great Reads

We have compiled reading for pleasure lists recommending good quality books. These support you in choosing a book if you're not sure what to read next.

 

There's a 100 Great Reads for Years 3 & 4 and 100 Great Reads for Years 5 & 6. These are by no means an exhaustive list but are a great starting point.

 

Over the coming weeks, we'll be adding links to the covers so that when you click on them, they will take you to some 'blurb' information about the book. Keep checking back!

 

To print into a booklet

The above lists have been made so you can print them as a booklet. In your printer options, select:

  • double-sided
  • 4 pages to a sheet
  • choose colour or black & white
  • fold so that the front cover faces you and the back cover is the one with the extra suggestions.
If you would prefer just to print the pages in page order (so not in booklet format), you can print the ones below.

 

 

Book Suggestion Form

If you're stuck on what to read next, you can ask Mrs Parr for some suggestions. Please complete the form by clicking on the books picture above. 

 

More Book Suggestion Websites

 

 

   Who Next?  A Guide to Children's Authors

Use this excellent resource to help you find books you might enjoy. If you've already enjoyed stories by one author, use this to find others who write in a similar way. The links that have been made between authors are based on genre and theme, styles of writing or similar aspects of characterisation and settings. 

The most popular titles by each author are listed and the information is arranged in four age groups: 5-7, 8-11, 12-14 and 14+. Who Next ...? also suggests suitable titles for dyslexic and reluctant readers.

Speak with or email Mrs Parr for a login for this site if you don't already have one.

 

 

  Books for Topics

Books of the Month, Favourite Non-Fiction, Printable Year Group Lists (books recommended for you depending on what year group you're in), Book Awards & Collections, 'Branching Out' Booklists, New Books to Watch, Topic Booklists, Home Learning Booklists and more.

 

 

   Booktrust

Themed booklists: These can help you discover some brilliant children's books. Their booklists cover a large range of subjects, from everyday issues to genre, disability, diversity, sporty books, funny books, and more.  Also Booklists by age.

 

 

    FCBG (Federation of Children's Book Groups)  (Non-Fiction)

100 brilliant non-fiction books for children and young people.

 

 

   Reading Well

A booklist from The Booktrust supporting the mental health and wellbeing of children, providing children and their families and carers with information, advice and support for coping with feelings and worries, daily life and getting through a tough time.

 

 

   School Reading List

Not just for school! They have compiled lists of the best picture books for 3-5 year olds, picture books and emerging reader books for 5-7 year olds, short chapter books for 7 year olds, short novels for 8 and 9 year olds and developing texts for 10 and 11 year olds. With lots of styles, genres and topics covered, there should be something there for everyone.

 

 

 Toppsta

Recommended books by age, teacher's notes, activity packs, videos, Toppsta book club, book awards and much more!

 

 

  CLPE's Core Books - one that parents & teachers might like to use

 

Books Similar To...

 

Looking for book recommendations? If you've enjoyed a particular series or author and are ready to branch out, check the Branching Out booklists below - they're free and printable. From Harry Potter and Tom Gates to Rainbow Magic and The Worst Witch.

 

These lists have been created by Book for Topics. Have a look at their other really useful recommendations elsewhere on the website.


What to Read Next